January is School Board Recognition Month

 January is School Board Recognition Month, a time to recognize the work of our volunteer school board members and to celebrate public education.

 Since March 2020, schools across the country have been faced with many challenges no one saw coming. The members of our local school Boards of Education have been steadfast leaders, helping navigate our school districts through this unprecedented time.

 School board members in Linden Community Schools, Fenton Area Public Schools, and Lake Fenton Community Schools develop policies and make tough decisions that help shape the future of our education system. They bear responsibility for the annual budget and the welfare of our students, employees, and school buildings. They are citizens whose dedication and decisions affect our children and build our communities.

 Showing appreciation for the important work of school boards should be a year-round process, but too often we neglect to recognize the dedication and hard work of these men and women. This January, the staff and students of our districts are asking all members of the community to take a moment and thank a school board member.

 Each school will be presenting its board with tokens of appreciation during scheduled board meetings:

• Fenton Area Public Schools: via Zoom, Jan. 11, at 6 p.m.

• Lake Fenton Community Schools: via Zoom, Jan. 11, at 6 p.m.

• Linden Community Schools: via Zoom Jan. 20, at 7 p.m.

 We salute the public servants of all districts whose dedication and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible.

 The men and women serving our areas schools are:

 Linden Community Schools: Scott Maker, Shari Luck, Michelle Shayna, David Haney, Steve Losey, Jarrod Montague and Steve Murphy

 Fenton Area Public Schools: Dana Jones, Pam Dickie, Scott Pushman, Emily Rossmaessler, Kim Gruber, Matthew Welch and Keith Reynolds

 Lake Fenton Community Schools: Chris Fletcher, Larry Godlewski, Heidi Howieson, Bob Hutchins, Mike Cicalo, Katherine Carswell and Michelle Curtain


Adam Hartley, Fenton Area Public Schools superintendent; 

Julie Williams, Lake Fenton Community Schools superintendent; 

Russell Ciesielski, Linden Community Schools superintendent

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.